The Importance of Marketing Yourself

I recently read an interesting article about the importance of marketing yourself. It is something that I never really thought about deeply, but this article really made a lot of sense. We work hard for our employers, but we forget about the importance of getting our own “brand” out there.  

Like Adam Singer mentions, we often think about marketing ourselves when we need a new job, but never really think about it past that point.  It is about creating a reputation in the industry you are in and working toward shaping the future; this is the reality. 

He points seven different reasons why it is important:

1. No one else will do it for you. 

Ultimately, if you don’t take charge of showing your image, it will be difficult for others to see your full potential.

2. The future isn’t tell me, it’s show me

It’s easy to talk about your accomplishments, but if you cannot back it up with action it is uselss.

3. A  blog along with a following is powerful for professionals in all fields. 

Blogging is a great tool to appeal to your audience and get your voice heard.

4.  There is no power in remaining silent. 

Singer shared a great quote by Robert Greene summing this up perfectly: “Everything is judged by its appearance; what is unseen counts for nothing. Never let yourself get lost in the crowd, then, or buried in oblivion. Stand out. Be conspicuous, at all cost.”

5. Share your ideas with the industry.

If you have ideas and do not share them, it only allows others to establish themselves as the “go-to person”, and you remain unknown. Also, by sharing your ideas you become a mentor to others. 

6. Branding yourself gives you a competitive advantage.

It is crucial to stand out from your competition if you want to succeed in the career you’re seeking.

7.  Don’t make it about you.

The smartest way to market yourself is to not make it about you.

I thought this article was very insightful, and I see that I have a long way to go! I try to get involved as much as possible, but the most difficult part for me is actually sharing my insights and ideas with the fear of being judged, but what he points out makes a lot of sense. If I have ideas and don’t share them, how will I ever get noticed? How will I get ahead in a competitive field? The answer: I won’t.

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is excellent. While number 1 has always been important, I think number 2 is what really sets people apart now.

    Reply

  2. […] — how about one of the best ways you can market yourself? Just read my former student, Aimee Thurston’s blog about […]

    Reply

  3. Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information particularly the ultimate part 🙂 I take care of such info a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Reply

Leave a comment